Monday, February 6, 2012

USDA-NIFA to Hold Stakeholder Listening Session for Agriculture and Food Research

In an effort to improve the quality of its Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (AFRI) program, USDA-NIFA is again holding a public meeting and soliciting public comments for consideration in the development of future AFRI program solicitations. The AFRI Stakeholder Listening Session will be held on Wednesday, February 22, 2012, 8:00 am–5:00 pm at USDA–NIFA, Waterfront Centre, 800 9th Street, SW, Room 1410, Washington, DC 20024. To learn more about and/or register for the session, please visit the NIFA website.

1 comment:

  1. C-FARE is offering the opportunity for agricultural economists to participate in a one hour call to provide input for our consolidated comments. You are also encouraged to submit your individual comments to NIFA. An AFRI National Program Leader will be part of the call to highlight the needs at the Listening Session and to answer questions.

    Please RSVP by February 10 to with the subject “AFRI call”. Additional information will be sent to all participants.

    Title: Input for AFRI Listening Session

    Date: February 13

    Time: 2:00 ET/1:00 CT/12:00 MT/11:00 PT

    - Opening comments to introduce topic – Damona Doye (C-FARE Chair, Oklahoma State University) Moderator

    - AFRI Listening Session Update –
    Sivapathasun “Suresh” Sureshwaran (National Program Leader, USDA NIFA, Division of Agricultural Systems)

    An overview of the agenda:

    1. Feedback on how applied econ participated last year in the AFRI Challenge areas.

    2. Areas economists need greater participation.

    3. Insights from profession –30 minute roundtable discussion.

    Thank you.