Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Undergraduate Student Section Activities Announcement

On behalf of the Undergraduate Student Section of the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association, we cordially invite you and your students to attend and participate in the 2015 AAEA& WAEA Joint Annual Meeting in San Francisco (July 26-28). Our section offers a wide variety of professional development opportunities for undergraduate students of agricultural and applied economics:

· Academic Bowl Competition
· Student Paper Competition
· Earl O. Heady Decision Sciences Spreadsheet Competition
· Outstanding Chapter Competition
· Creative Club Competition

In addition to the aforementioned competitions, students can interact with representatives of major graduate programs in our profession to discuss MS and PhD programs. Our reception on Sunday night (July 26, 2015) is a great opportunity for your students to meet and forge lifelong friendships with other students from over 20 domestic and several Canadian universities. On Monday night, immediately following the final round of the Academic Bowl Competition, we recognize and celebrate student accomplishments at the Awards Ceremony. Additionally on Monday night, in our section’s business meeting students have the opportunity to run for elected student leadership positions within our section.

To encourage participation, the student registration fees have been discounted this year from $50 to $20 per student. As a further incentive to participate, there is a total of $1,800 in prize money, various award plaques, and of course bragging rights to be national champions in a given competition. All of the required registration forms, competition rules, and overview of the Undergraduate Student Section may be found at If you have any questions, please contact me at

Dr. Steven S. Vickner
Associate Professor
Wilmington College

Faculty Leadership:
Dr. Steven S. Vickner (Senior Advisor)
Dr. Tyler Mark (Junior Advisor)
Dr. Timothy Meyer (Sophomore Advisor)
Dr. Maria Bampasidou (Freshman Advisor)

Student Leadership:
Rozalyn Patrick (President)
Richard Manuli (Vice President)
Abby Biedenbach (Secretary/Treasurer)
Caroline Kelsoe (Public Relations)

No comments:

Post a Comment