Thursday, August 15, 2013

AARES-AAEA Young Professional Exchange Awards: 2013 Heading South Award

2013 Heading South Award 

AARES and AAEA are pleased to invite submissions for the 2013 Heading South Award. 

The Australian Agricultural and Resource Economics Society (AARES) and the Agricultural & Applied Economics Association (AAEA) through the AAEA Trust will jointly offer this travel award to attend the 2014 AARES conference in Port Macquarie, on the mid-north coast of New South Wales. It is available to members of AARES or AAEA normally resident in North America. Applicants for the award can be a member of either AARES or AAEA but must be a member of AARES to participate in the conference.

The objective of the award is to provide the winner with an opportunity for professional and personal development and international professional and cultural exchange. The award will have a value of US $3,000 to be used to assist the winner to participate in the 2014 Annual Conference of AARES to be held in Port Macquarie, Australia from 4-7 February 2014.

Selection Process 

The 2013 Heading South selection committee will be chaired by the incoming President-Elect of AAEA (Julie Caswell). Other members will include the President-Elect of AARES (Prof. Alan Randall), another member of AARES, usually the president of the North America Branch, and another member of AAEA.

Applications should include:
  • a paper for presentation at the AARES Annual Conference in Port Macquarie, for which the applicant is the sole or first author and which represents their original and unpublished work, 
  • a one-page biographical statement, and 
  •  a one-page statement in support of their application, indicating what they would hope to accomplish through the award, why they would be deserving of the award, and confirming that they would be unable to attend the conference without this financial support.
 Electronic submissions (in PDF form) for this award must be emailed to Brian Mondragón Jones ‎( by Friday, August 30, 2013 (for travel in February 2014).

No comments:

Post a Comment